Ayesha In Bahrain! πŸ‡§πŸ‡­

Asalamualykum all, or, to translate, May Peace Be Upon You! Muslim or not, we all deserve some peace in our lives. πŸ˜›

On Friday, 3 AM, we began our six hour drive. Where? To Bahrain of course! This was a much anticipated vacation so no time was wasted.  

You must know that Bahrain is an island. Well..uh..how do you drive to an island you may be asking? You simply just cross over a 16 mile long bridge, called the King Fahd Causeway. And let me just say by far, this bridge is ten times better than the Golden Gate Bridge! It’s amazing, or amaze, as Barbie would say. πŸ˜€

First thing on our list? Go to IHOP (International House of Pancakes) for breakfast. The last time I had been to IHOP was way back in the USA, which was basically months ago. I was especially excited that I could now eat the bacon and meat choices! I was able to discover why so many people LOVE (<3) bacon. It is delicious! And eating them with crispy waffles and cinnamon glazed apples makes me want it everyday. πŸ˜‰

Our hotel room was located right on the corner of the mall, which was very convenient. And expensive…😱

As we were strolling around in the mall, I noticed nearly 75% of the people within the mall, were either from the West, or Europe. Suddenly I wasn’t confused by the crazy fast Arabic being spoken around me because frankly, it was all English! I was able to connect with people for the first time in months without having to degrade my English accent. I felt like I was, at home, without the plane ride. <3😊

You may not know this (or may) but movie theaters are completely BANNED in Saudi Arabia, so we did not waste this opportunity to watch some movies. I was finally able to see the new Star Wars movie and find out why it was such a hit. Without watching any Star Wars movie before in my life, this was….confusing. But at the same time, enjoyable.

Due to the ice freezing weather, we were sadly not able to visit the beach, but I could see it from the corner of my hotel window, looking beautiful, as always.

Bahrain may be more Westernized than the West itself! Knowing that such a free country, where movie theaters are allowed, and women can drive, is located next to one with the complete opposite rules, truly showed me just how different our world can be.

But seriously, even though Bahrain was paradise in the middle of the sea, I prefer Saudi Arabia. ❀

3 thoughts on “Ayesha In Bahrain! πŸ‡§πŸ‡­

  1. Sounds like a really fun time! Will have to go there when I am next in the middle east! Great post! Cheers,
    Lach
    (from jessandlachie.wordpress.com)
    p.s so sorry we haven’t posted in like forever!! We recently put up a couple of posts. Check them out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

